Over Christmas vacation I borrowed stole a copy of Ken Blanchard’s Raving Fans from my dad’s bookshelf. Someone gave him a copy at a conference a couple of years ago, and every time I visit him I see it sitting on his shelf, staring at me, taunting me, giggling at me because I don’t own it (perhaps I see those things because I’ve also eaten too much of my brother’s special recipe New Year’s Eve hog jowl, I don’t know).

But I digress. Somehow I knew that this pitiful little copy needed to be taken, read, marked in, and smuggled out of Tennessee and back to North Carolina.

I could spend several posts unpacking the nuggets found in Blanchard’s book (and I likely will), but there’s one particular thought I’m ruminating on today:

Deliver plus one.

That’s the abbreviated way of saying “deliver your vision, plus one percent.” And that’s the abbreviated way of saying that you need to know your vision, refuse to over-promise your vision, and then deliver your vision consistently and constantly.

Plus one percent.

Delivering what people expect is..well…expected. But delivering exactly what they expect plus a little more? Well, that’s remarkable.

Your one percent might look a bit different, depending on context. Maybe you deliver a memorable experience for a first time guest, but your one percent is that you also remember their name. Maybe you follow up with a note to thank them for visiting, but your one percent is including a $5 Starbucks gift card. Maybe you provide up-front parking for a first timer, but you also wash their windshield while they’re in the service.

A new year is a great time for new strategies to honor your guests. It’s a new chance to wow people, as my friend Mark Waltz says. So what will you deliver this year that acts as your extra, as your icing on the cake, as your one percent?

I’d love to hear your thoughts. Comment below.

 

Related post: What’s Your 1%?

